The Connecticut State Parks Division provides more than 1,400 campsites statewide for residents and visitors to enjoy. Here's what you need to know to plan your Connecticut camping trip:
Time Required: NA
- The camping season generally runs from mid-April through October 1. Call the State Parks Division at 860-424-3200 to confirm opening and closing dates at the park you plan to visit.
- Check-in time at state park campgrounds is 1 p.m. You'll need to check out by noon.
- The maximum stay at inland state campgrounds is 14 consecutive days. At Hammonasset Beach and Rocky Neck State Parks, the maximum stay is 21 days. No member of a camping party can return to the same park for five days after departure.
- You must remove all equipment from the campsite at the end of your camping trip.
- The campsite fee covers up to six people including children. Families may occupy a campsite with all children under age 18, even if this number is exceeded.
- Occupy your campsite within the first 24 hours of your reservation, or the site will be declared open and will be reassigned and all payment will be forfeited. Telephone the campground if you will not arrive on time.
- Arrive at state parks before 10 p.m., or you will not be able to access your campsite and will be required to set up a temporary camp in a stopover area until the following morning.
- Camping permits are not issued to anyone under the age of 18.
- Reservations for all state park and forest campgrounds can be made by calling toll free, 877-668-CAMP, Monday-Wednesday 8 a.m.-2:30 p.m., Thursday and Friday 8 a.m.-6:30 p.m. or Saturday and Sunday 9 a.m.-12 p.m. from May 1 through September 1 or Monday-Friday 9 a.m.-12 p.m. during the off-peak season. Reservations may be made from 11 months to one day in advance.
- All campsites that are not reserved are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
- Drinking water and toilets are available. The following are not available: individual connections for electricity, water, or sanitary facilities; laundry; firewood; lodges or shelters.
- No more than two motor vehicles are permitted on a single campsite, except at Rocky Neck, where the limit is one vehicle. The speed limit within campgrounds is 10 MPH.
- You can bring a pet to state forest campgrounds, but not to state park camping areas. The limit is one pet on a leash no more than seven feet in length. You may need to show proof of rabies vaccination. Pets may not be left unattended at campsites.
- Be considerate of your neighbors at all times; quiet hours must be observed from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m.
- Beer in containers larger than one liter is prohibited. State law limits the possession of alcoholic beverages to individuals 21 years or older. The following campgrounds are alcohol-free: Black Rock, Housatonic Meadows and Macedonia Brook. Weapons are not permitted in state park and forest campgrounds in Connecticut.
- Campsite reservations are no longer being accepted by mail.
- You can, however, make camping reservations online via ReserveAmerica.
- Trailers and RVs exceeding 35 feet in length are not permitted at Connecticut state campgrounds.
- Off-season camping is permitted at some campgrounds from October 2 through the end of December, conditions permitting. Maximum stay is seven nights. Inquire ahead.
- In order to prevent the spread of the Asian Longhorned Beetle, campers are asked to purchase firewood near their destination campground and not to bring wood from home. Particular care should be taken not to transport wood into Connecticut from areas with known Asian Longhorned Beetle infestations. Read more about why you should not transport firewood.